Skip to main content
Oceans and fisheries
Ennakkouutinen30 maaliskuu 2022Meri- ja kalastusasioiden pääosasto

EU now member of the North Pacific Fisheries Commission

Sea water with foam © vivoo / Adobe Stock
Sea water with foam © vivoo / Adobe Stock

The European Union (EU) became officially member of the North Pacific Fisheries Commission (NPFC) on 23 March 2022. The NPFC is a Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (RFMO) established in 2015 to ensure the long-term conservation of the stocks and protection of the marine ecosystems of the North Pacific Ocean. The main target species currently regulated by the NPFC are Pacific saury, chub mackerel, sablefish, Japanese sardine, neon flying squid, Japanese flying squid, as well as, some deep sea species.

Through its active participation in the NPFC, the EU will promote the conservation and sustainable management of the marine biological resources managed by this RFMO as well as the protection of vulnerable marine ecosystems and species. It will also contribute to strengthening the governance and existing legal framework of the organisation, promoting better science and effective compliance and enforcement of applicable rules. 

With this new membership to the NPFC, the EU has increased its participation to 18 RFMOs and regional fisheries bodies (13 non-tuna and 5 tuna RFMOs), and is consolidating its position as the most prominent actor in RFMOs and fisheries bodies worldwide. 

More information



30 maaliskuu 2022
Meri- ja kalastusasioiden pääosasto