Skip to main content
Oceans and fisheries
© Sergey Tokarev / Adobe Stock
Protecting the ocean, time for action

High Ambition Coalition on Biodiversity Beyond National Jurisdiction

On 4 March 2023 global negotiations concluded on the landmark Treaty of the High Seas to protect the ocean, tackle environmental degradation, fight climate change, and prevent biodiversity loss.

The new treaty will allow to establish large-scale marine protected areas on the high seas, which are also necessary to meet the global commitment of the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Agreement concluded last December to protect at least 30% of the ocean by 2030. For the first time, the treaty will also require assessing the impact of economic activities on high seas biodiversity. Developing countries will be supported in their participation in and implementation of the new treaty by a strong capacity-building and marine technology transfer component, funded from a variety of public and private sources and by an equitable mechanism for sharing the potential benefits of marine genetic resources.

The high ambition coalition on Biodiversity Beyond National Jurisdiction (BBNJ) was launched at the One Ocean Summit in Brest, on 11th of February 2022. The coalition gathers parties which are committed, at the highest political level, to achieve an ambitious outcome of the negotiations on a Treaty of the High Seas (“the implementing agreement on Biodiversity Beyond National Jurisdiction”), under the auspices of the United Nations.

31 JANUAR 2022
A High Ambition Coalition on Biodiversity beyond National Jurisdiction, Protecting the Ocean: Time for Action
(270.55 KB - PDF)
© Sergey Fedoskin / Adobe Stock

List of countries that have joined

As of 22 February 2023: Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia*, Comoros, Costa Rica, Egypt, Gabon, Iceland, India, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Peru, Republic of Korea, the Republic of the Congo, Singapore, Switzerland, Togo, the United Kingdom, the United States, the EU and its 27 Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) have joined.

*This acceptance is without prejudice to the rights and interests of Colombia as a non-party to the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea.

© Andrew / Adobe Stock
Areas beyond national jurisdiction

Background and next steps

Areas beyond national jurisdiction comprise two-thirds of the world’s ocean and provide invaluable ecological, economic, social, cultural, scientific and food-security benefits to humanity.

However, these areas teeming with life are now vulnerable to growing threats, including pollution, overexploitation, and the impacts already visible of climate change. The increasing demand for marine resources in the coming decades – for food, minerals or biotechnology – threatens to exacerbate this problem.

Faced with these challenges, and following over a decade of preparatory work, the United Nations General Assembly agreed on the development of a new international agreement on Biodiversity Beyond National Jurisdiction (BBNJ).

The ‘Biodiversity Beyond National Jurisdiction' treaty, agreed at the 5th Intergovernmental Conference in New York, is the fruit of more than a decade of global engagement to find solutions for this crucial global environmental issue. 

Next steps

Now that the negotiations are over, the agreement shall enter into force once 60 States have ratified it. The EU will work to ensure this happens rapidly and to help developing countries prepare for its implementation. To this end, the EU has pledged €40 million as part of a Global Ocean Programme and has invited members of the High Ambition Coalition to do the same within their capabilities.

The formal adoption of the treaty will take place once legal scrubbing in UN languages is complete.

© DeepAqua /istockphoto
BBNJ Treaty

What is it?

The “BBNJ Treaty”, also known as the “Treaty of the High Seas”, is an international agreement on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biological diversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction. This new instrument was developed within the framework of the United Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), the main international agreement governing human activities at sea. It will achieve a more holistic management of high seas activities, which should better balance the conservation and sustainable use of marine resources.

The negotiations were centered around a package of elements agreed upon by the General Assembly in 2015, namely

  • the conservation and sustainable use of marine biological diversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction, in particular, together and as a whole, marine genetic resources, including questions on the sharing of benefits
  • area-based management tools, including marine protected areas
  • environmental impact assessments
  • capacity-building and the transfer of marine technology


Factsheet - One Ocean Summit

31 JANUAR 2022
A High Ambition Coalition on Biodiversity beyond National Jurisdiction, Protecting the Ocean: Time for Action
(270.55 KB - PDF)